The People’s Cloud

The People’s Cloud is a six part artist documentary series that gets to the bottom of the Internet; investigating the ecology and impact of cloud computing on the lives of those who use it, the places it is physically located in and the people who work to maintain it.

Travelling across Europe the project searches for the sites and sounds that make up infrastructure of the internet. From secretive data centre factories and network exchange hubs to submarine cables and fibre optic landing sites, THE PEOPLE’S CLOUD investigates the environmental and geopolitical impact of mobile data storage, asking engineers, technicians, manufacturers, physicists and artists what ‘the Cloud’ means to them and what this data boom has meant to their lives.

Episode 1

What is the Cloud vs What Existed Before?

Episode 1 of The People’s Cloud presents the origins of the so-called accidental megastructure of the Internet through the voice and memory of two veteran engineers of the industry who think back to the moment the first transatlantic Internet connection was made, and the early days of personal computing where floppy disks were shared between friends in a garage.

Read the extended essay on Chapter 1 here

Episode 2

Working out the Internet: it’s a volume game!

In Episode 2 of The People’s Cloud we speak to some of the best Internet infrastructure technicians in the world and ask them to try and explain how the Internet works as concisely as possible. End result? It turns out that the Internet is pretty complicated!

Read the extended essay on Chapter 2 here


Cinematography: Sebastien Dehesdin
Additional Cinematography: Michael James Lewis, Matt Parker
Sound and Composition: Matt Parker
Assistant Composer: Gary Salomon
Editor: Matt Parker
Dubbing Mixer: Chris Amblin
Motion Graphics: Matt Parker
Colorist: Sebastian Dehesdin